See Ya Later, 2013!

Sparkling Cava

Cheers to 2014!
And to drinking more bubbly.

The New Year is almost here and along with it is the excitement of new beginnings and a fresh start.

In the past, I’ve resolutely declared New Year’s resolutions (eat healthier! go to the gym! volunteer more often!) only to see them fall to the wayside once the year gets going and the new beginnings/fresh start novelty begins to wear off.

But this year, I’ve (resolutely) decided it’s going to be different. I’m going to set some goals and actually achieve them.

How you ask? Well, I’ve done some research and learned that it’s not that I need to get better at achieving my goals necessarily, it’s that I need to get better at setting goals.

For example, I learned that you are much more likely to be successful in achieving a New Year’s resolution if it is clearly defined, simple, and measurable.

It also helps if you share your goals with friends and family because it makes you accountable to these people. And you may even find support within these groups, which will help even more in achieving your goals!

So below is my list of simple, clearly-defined, and measureable goals that I’m sharing with you.

To make things even easier for myself, I’ve decided to set monthly goals instead of yearly goals. I did this for a couple of months last year and found that short-term goals help me to feel a greater sense of accomplishment and satisfaction. I kept the list in a visible place and crossed off each line as I achieved the goal.

January 2014 Goals

  1. Blog for 30 consecutive days.
  2. Start a gratitude journal and list three things daily.
  3. Learn how to poach an egg.
  4. Sign up for and complete one monthly yoga class.

Are you part of the 8% of people who are successful in achieving New Year’s resolutions? What are some of your goals for this year? I’d love to hear how you’re achieving them!

One thought on “See Ya Later, 2013!

  1. Pingback: Getting My Om On | on mill road

Leave a Reply

