Baked Sweet Potato Fries with Garlic Aioli

3-Ingredient Sweet Potato Fries
Sometimes I fall into a veggie routine. I will remember how much I like something (like eggplant) and then buy and make the same thing (roasted eggplant) every week for a while because I really like it and it becomes easy to prepare. Anyone else do this? No? Maybe it’s just me.

Anyway, sweet potatoes are my current thing because they are delicious and so easy to make. Usually, I just scrub them clean, poke some holes with a fork, bake at 400 °F for about 45 minutes, split lengthwise, and sprinkle a little cinnamon on top.

This weekend I had a little bit of time (emphasis on little, we’re talking teeny tiny) and wanted to try something different with my star vegetable. Enter sweet potato fries with garlic aioli.

This recipe is super simple because I only used three ingredients for the sweet potato fries: sweet potatoes, olive oil, and garam masala.

Sweet Potato Fries

Ingredients

Sweet Potato Fries
2 pounds sweet potatoes (I used 3 large ones)
¼ cup olive oil
2 Tbsp garam masala (you can get this Indian spice mixture at almost any grocery store. Extra points if you grind all the spices yourself and make it at home).

Garlic Aioli
½ cup mayonnaise
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 Tbsp lemon juice
¾ tsp each salt and pepper

Prepare

Preheat oven to 400 °F. Wash and dry the sweet potatoes. Peel, slice, and cut into fries. I like mine a little thin so I did about ¼-inch fries. Place on a lined baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil. Sprinkle the garam masala on top and use your hands to mix and spread evenly on the fries.

Pop in the oven for about 30-40 minutes or until crisp. For best results, avoid overcrowding the baking sheet. They crisp best when the fries are in a single layer with a little room.

While the fries are baking, make the garlic aioli by mixing all the ingredients together and placing in a pretty bowl. Serve with the fresh baked fries.

There are no storage instructions because you will not have any left.

Leave a Reply

