Beets and Granny Smith Apple Salad

Granny Smith Apple & Beets Salad

Beets. Either people love them or they hate them. I had always considered myself in the latter group until last week when I was reintroduced to beets and realized I have been wrong all this time. And I realized I have been missing out. Not only do they taste great (to me, at least), according to my favorite doctor on TV, beets are considered a superfood because of their high nutritional value.

Anyway, last week I was at one my favorite places in the neighborhood, Virtue Feed & Grain, and saw this salad on the menu. I don’t know if it was because I had had a long day at work or maybe my drink was extra strong, but I looked right past my old standby, Blue Corn Nachos, and decided I was craving something fresh and light and this salad was exactly what I wanted to eat.

Best decision ever. The salad was amazing. It had the perfect combination of tartness from the Granny Smith apples and the sweetness of the beets. And the rich feta cheese just made it complete. I am pretty sure the speed at which I ate this salad could be defined as unladylike in some circles. Oh well.

Here is my attempt to recreate this goodness. This is so simple, I don’t really consider it a recipe. It’s more like assembly instructions.

Granny Smith Apple & Beets Ingredients

Ingredients

  • 1 medium beet (I used canned because I wanted to avoid staining everything in my kitchen. For those who are not lazy more ambitious, here’s a link to cooking beets at home)
  • 1 Granny Smith green apple
  • 2 Tbsp feta cheese
  • 1 cup fresh greens, like arugula or spring mix
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice
  • Salt & pepper

Prepare

First I made the dressing for the greens by mixing the olive oil, lemon juice, and salt and pepper. I tossed the greens to coat and set on the side of the plate. Then I cut the Granny Smith apple into slices, topped them with beet slices (be careful, they bleed like crazy), and sprinkled on some feta. I served it immediately to avoid the apples from browning.

Granny Smith Apple & Beets_2

2 thoughts on “Beets and Granny Smith Apple Salad

  1. I am a late bloomer when it comes to beets too, but I really like them pickled. I wonder how that would taste in this salad? I should try it, I love all of the other ingredients in a salad. Thanks for the ideas!

    Like

Leave a Reply

