Spice-Crusted Ahi Tuna

Earlier this week I found a little extra time on my hands one evening. I knew I wanted to use it to prepare a nice dinner, but I just didn’t know what I wanted to make. So I stopped by my neighborhood Whole Foods on my way home from work and looked for some inspiration. After a little wandering and the obligatory stop in the bakery section for a sample (shameless, I know), I found these beauties at the seafood counter.  Once I had my entree, I picked up some red bliss potatoes and asparagus to round out my dinner.

Ahi Tuna Sashimi

I created a quick game plan on my way home. I knew the potatoes would take the longest to prepare so I worked on those first. I scrubbed them and cut them into one-inch pieces. I placed the chopped potatoes on a sheet pan and drizzled them with olive oil, added salt, pepper, and dried thyme and popped them in the oven which was pre-heated to 350°.

Herb Roasted Potatoes

While those were roasting, I created a spice rub by mixing Dizzy Pig’s Jamaican Firework (seriously good stuff) with some ground coriander. I rubbed the tuna steaks with the spice mixture and then gave them a quick sear, about one to two minutes per side.

Spice Crusted & Seared Ahi Tuna

I let the tuna rest for a few minutes and got to work on the asparagus. I washed and dried the spears and sautéed them in a little olive oil with salt, pepper, and cumin seeds. The whole process took less than five minutes. In fact, it happened so fast, that I forgot to take a picture of this part. You will just have to imagine it. I’ll help you out: think pencil thin asparagus spears that are vibrant green from the quick sauté.

When the potatoes were done roasting, about 40-45 minutes, I sliced the tuna.

Spice Crusted & Sliced Ahi Tuna

And plated the three items. Here’s the complete dinner!

Spice Crusted Ahi Tuna Sashimi

3 thoughts on “Spice-Crusted Ahi Tuna

Leave a Reply

