Blueberry Hand Pies

Blueberry Hand Pies

I made a summer dessert recipe this week for the blog. These hand pies were a cinch to make and the hardest part of the recipe was waiting for the pie crust to bake.

Here’s what you’ll need to make your own Blueberry Hand Pies

Blueberry Compote Ingredients

  • 1 pint fresh blueberries
  • 2 Tbs sugar
  • 1 tsp lemon zest
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 2 Tbs water

Blueberry Hand Pie Ingredients

  • Blueberry compote, 2 Tbs per hand pie
  • Prepared pie dough, I used a shortcut with store-bought pie dough. Feel free to make yours from scratch if you’re feeling ambitious!
  • 2 Tbs flour
  • 2 Tbs melted butter

I started by pre-heating my oven to 350°F and removing the pie dough from the refrigerator to allow it to come to room temperature.

Next, I washed and drained a pint of fresh blueberries.

Blueberries

I made a quick compote by mixing the half the blueberries, sugar, lemon zest, lemon juice, and a little water in a small saucepan over medium heat for about 10 minutes. Then I added the remaining blueberries and cooked for about five more minutes before removing the compote from the heat and allowing it to cool and thicken.

In the meantime, I rolled out the pie dough on a floured surface and cut out the dough for my individual pies. I cut two pieces of dough per hand pie. I used heart shaped cookie cutters for my hand pies, but you can just cut the dough into rectangles.

Heart-Shaped Dough

Once the blueberry compote had cooled completely, I placed 1 tablespoon on each pie bottom. *Once my hand pies were done baking, they looked a little flat, so I recommend using at least 2 tablespoons of compote depending on the size of your hand pie.

Blueberry Compote

Then I covered each one with the top and pushed the edges together. I used the tip of a fork to press the along the edge to seal and create a little design.

Unbaked Blueberry Hand Pies

Finally, I brushed with melted butter and popped in the oven for about 12-14 minutes until they were golden brown.

Blueberry Hand Pie

Allow to cool for about 10 minutes before serving. If you’re feeling fancy, you can serve with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and call it hand pie à la mode. I would recommend this route even if you’re not feeling fancy. Just call it blueberry hand pie with ice cream.

Leave a Reply

