Caprese Salad with Heirloom Tomatoes

Caprese Salad w Heirloom Tomatoes
I went to the farmers market this weekend and brought home a pretty good haul. Some of my favorites from the lot are the heirloom tomatoes I used in this salad.

Since we are in the midst of the brief heirloom tomato season, it was impossible to pass by any farmer’s stand without seeing crates of these imperfect fruits in a variety of colors.

Heirloom Tomatoes

I don’t consider myself any kind of a connoisseur, but I have eaten many tomatoes in my time and have found heirlooms to have more flavor and taste more tomato-y than the romas or the grape tomatoes you can get from the grocery store year around.

There is lots of information online that says heirlooms are better, like this HuffPost Taste article, and lots of information that says hybrids (the more common tomatoes like romas and grape) are just as good, like this USA Today article.

No matter where you stand on the hybrid vs. heirloom debate, I will say that heirlooms have more interesting names like, Mr. Stripey, the Japanese Black Trifele, and Mortgage Lifter.

Anyway, since heirloom tomatoes have a very short shelf life, I decided a simple caprese salad would be the best way to use these.

This isn’t a traditional caprese salad because I added some romaine to the base before slicing the heirlooms and mozzarella on top. But it is just as good! I finished it up with a chiffonade of basil, a sprinkle of salt, and a little drizzle of olive oil.

 Caprese Salad w Heirloom Tomatoes.

5 thoughts on “Caprese Salad with Heirloom Tomatoes

  1. Pingback: Sunday Fare | Empires, Cannibals, and Magic Fish Bones

Leave a Reply

