Sautéed Shrimp and Brown Rice

Sautéed shrimp & brown rice | On Mill Road

Yesterday I got home a little earlier than usual and had the time to actually make dinner. I planned ahead and used what I had on hand so I was able to make it pretty quickly.

Here’s my easy weeknight dinner of sautéed shrimp and brown rice.

I knew the rice would take the longest so I began with that first. Once the water had boiled and I added the rice, I moved on to the shrimp. I had some peeled and deveined shrimp in the fridge that I rubbed with my current favorite spice rub, Dizzy Pig Jamaican Firewalk (seriously good stuff, especially if you like a little spice). Then I heated some olive oil in a skillet and sautéed the shrimp in batches.

Once the rice was done, I mixed in some cooked quinoa that I had in the fridge for added protein and texture. I finished it with the shrimp on top and and my dinner was ready to serve!

Leave a comment